Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Work and Employment
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-24-2009, 07:30 AM

364 posts, read 1,570,182 times

Advertisements

I'm considering getting a part-time job for maybe two nights a week or so. The main reason would be to pay off my student loan debt quicker -- the idea is that every single penny earned from the part time job would go to the loans. The thing is, I really don't want to do retail or be a server or anything in the public. I'm a professional and while it may be stupid, I'd feel embarrassed if a co-worker at my day job saw me working at a clothing store or something. So... what other options are there? I've thought about a call center, although I really don't want to do that. So I figured I'd ask here to see if anyone has any other ideas.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-24-2009, 07:55 AM

26,585 posts, read 62,116,681 times
As a professional I worked p/t in a very popular mall store for five years. My coworkers were in and out all the time--sometimes when they were in the mall for other things they'd stop in just to say "hi." I never hid the fact that I worked there. Why on earth shuld you be embarrassed about it?

Of the people I worked with that had other jobs, one was a scientist, three were teachers, one was in HR, two were in I/T, one was an accountant, and I can't recall the rest, but there were other professionals that worked there.

Honest work should never be something you are ashamed of. :-)